On January 1, 2016, new tobacco laws will prohibit anyone under 21 years of age from buying tobacco and e-cigarette products in Hawaii, the first state in the US to do so. The state will also enforce a measure that bans use of e-cigarettes in all locations where smoking is illegal.
In Hawaii, 86% of current adult smokers began smoking before 21 years of age; of these, 34% started smoking between 18-20 years old, state officials say.
Those under 21 caught buying or using tobacco would be fined $10 for the first offense, and $50 for repeat offenses. Those caught selling to underage buyers would be fined $500 for the first offense, and up to $2,000 for subsequent offenses.
- Disorders & Diseases
- Public Health
- Products & Treatment
- Department Management
- Edition Archive