The Joint Commission and the National Quality Forum are accepting applications for the 2009 John M. Eisenberg Patient Safety and Quality Awards, which recognize individuals and health care organizations that are making significant contributions in improving the safety and quality of patient care. The deadline for submission is April 20, 2009.

The awards honor Eisenberg, a nationally recognized leader in health care quality improvement who advocated for health care based on a strong foundation of research that meets the needs and perspectives of patients. Eisenberg, who died in 2002, spearheaded national efforts to reduce medical errors and improve patient safety as director of the federal Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality.

The accomplishments of award nominees must be focused on one or more of the following:
Improving patient safety or the quality of health care
Leadership in advancing methods for measuring and reporting health care quality
Expanding the public’s capacity to evaluate the quality and safety of health care
Promoting health care choices based on information about safety and quality

More information about the award is available online.